Philadelphia Celebratory Ball

Philly Ball Links: Home | Honorees | Committees | Photos | Contributions

Semper Fidelis Award 
 John M. Gill
Co-Founder, President, Chief Executive Officer, and Director of, Tetralogic Pharmaceuticals

Globe & Anchor Award
Don Kurz
President, Keystone Shipping

Sportsman Award
The Honorable Jon Runyan
U.S House of Representatives

Former Philadelphia Ball Award Recipients



PHILADELPHIA Semper Fidelis Award 
1976 The Honorable John H. Glenn Senator Ohio and Astronaut
1977 William S. Cashel, Jr. Vice Chairman American Telephone & Telegraph Co.
1978 Donald E. Meads Chairman & CEO Certain Teed Co.
1979 Harold A. Shaub President & CEO Campbell Soup Co.
1980 Paul R. Kaiser Chairman & CEO Tasty Baking Co.
1981 William W. Bodine, Jr. President World Affairs Council of Philadelphia
1982 Thatcher Longstreth President Greater Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce
1983 J. Lee Everett, III Chairman & CEO Philadelphia Electric Company
1984 Nelson G. Harris President & CEO Tasty Baking Co.
1985 Joseph A. Gallagher Chairman & CEO Industrial Valley Bank & Trust Co.
1986 John B. Curcio President Mack Trucks
1987 John G. Christy Chairman & CEO IU International Corp.
1988 R. Gordon McGovern President & CEO Campbell Soup Co.
1989 Rosemarie B. Greco President Fidelity Bank
1990 Ronald J. Naples Chairman & CEO Hunt Manufacturing Co.
1991 John Tait Chairman & CEO Penn Mutual Life Insurance Co.
1992 Richard D. Sanford Chairman & CEO Intelligent Electronics
1993 Thomas F. Donovan Chairman Mellon PSFS
1994 Thomas F. Kane Chairman Printon, Kane Group, Inc.
1995 Joseph L. Castle II Chairman & CEO Castle Energy Corp. & Joseph L. Castle Associates
1996 Dr. John F. Lehman, Jr. Chairman J.F. Lehman & Company & Sperry Marine, Inc.
1997 Brian L. Roberts President Comcast Corp.
1998 Robert A. Lutz Vice Chairman Chrysler Corp.
1999 George A. Weiss President George Weiss Associates, Inc.
2000 Paul J. Arizin    
2001 Anthony A. Nichols, Sr. Chairman Brandywine Realty Trust
2002 George F. Rubin President Preit Rubin, Inc.
2003 Robert Fox Chairman & CEO RAF Industries, Inc.
2004 David S. Pottruck President & CEO The Charles Schwab Corporation
2005 Joseph I. Cox Ph.D.  
2006 James S. Ripe Vice Chairman, Board of Directors T. Rowe Price Group, Inc.
2007 Bruce M. Eckert, CEO and Chairman, Eastern Alliance Insurance Group, Lancaster, PA
2008 James Wright President Dartmouth College
2009 Scott C. Donnelly President & COO Textron, Inc.
PHILADELPHIA Globe & Anchor Award 
1988 Robert Montgomery Scott President & CEO Philadelphia Museum of Art
1989 Dr. Baruch S. Blumberg Vice President for Population Oncology Fox Chase Center
1990 Colonel Clinton L. Pagano Superintendent New Jersey State Police Department
1991 Frederick (Rick) Breitenfeld, Jr. President WHYY, Inc.
1992 Walter E. Boomer Lt. General USMC, Commanding General, MCCDC
1993   Physicians Navy Medical Corps
1994 Joseph T. Mooney, Jr. President Monsey Products Co.
1995 Joseph L. Wesley President AmQuip Corp.
1996 Melville P. Dickenson, Jr. Consultant Aon Group
    Retired Chairman Godwins Booke & Dickenson
1997 Harry J. Tucci Vice President Hercules, Inc.
1998 John B. Campbell, II   Mannington Mills, Inc.
1999 Richard B. Lieb President SEI Investment Systems & Services
2000 Kevin D. Flynn President The Flynn Co.
2001 Dennis P. Flanagan    
2002 John B. Hannum, Jr. Esquire  
2003 Clifford L. Stanley Executive Vice President University of Pennsylvania
2004 George R. Christmas Lt. General USMC (Ret.)
2005 Christopher B. Asplundh    
2006 George H. Baldwin, Jr. Col. USMC (Ret) - CEO/Chairman Balford Farms
2007 Barney Berlinger, Jr. President, ASI Technologies, Inc. and Managing Partner, Genesis Partners, LP 
2008 Manning J. Smith III Vice President  Indel, Inc
2009 Roy and Gretchen Jackson   Owners of Kentucky Derby Winner, Barbaro
PHILADELPHIA Sportsman Award 
1976 Robin Roberts   Major League Baseball Hall of Fame
1977 Leon Spinks U.S. Olympic Gold Medal Boxer  
1978 Fitz Eugene Dixon, Jr. President & Chairman Philadelpha 76ers, National Basketball League
1979 Dick Vermeil Coach Philadelpha Eagles, National Football League
1980 Wayne Hardin Football Coach Temple University
1981 Philadelphia Phillies 1980 World Series baseball team  
1982 Bill Bergey All-Pro Linebacker Philadelphia Eagles, National Football League
1983 Jerry Berndt Football Coach The University of Pennsylvania
1984 Jay Sigel World Renowned Amateur Golf Champion  
1985 Bob Clarke General Manager Philadelphia Flyers, National Hockey League
1986 Rollie Massimino Basketball Coach Villanova University
1987 Ed Zorrow Football Coach The University of Pennsylvania
1990 David M. Nelson Dean of Physical Education Athletics & Recreation, The University of Delaware
1999 Al Bagnoli Football Coach The University of Pennsylvania
2003 Fran Dunphy Basketball Coach The University of Pennsylvania
2004 Roger Reina Wrestling Coach The University of Pennsylvania
2005 Phil Martelli    
2006 Jay Wright Head Basketball Coach Villanova University
2007 Gaspare “Gamp” Pellegrini  Head Football Coach Malvarn Prepatory School
2009 Daniel "Lake" Staffieri Football Coach Univeristy of Pennsylvania
PHILADELPHIA Commandant's Award 
1989 Eileen & Bruce Hooper Retired Transportation Executive  
    Strong Supporter of Foundation  
1993 Henry M. Rowan President Inductotherm Industries, Inc.
1994 Patrick T. McGahn, Jr. Esquire, Attorney-at-Law McGahn & Friss
1995 Stephen E. Flynn II CEO SpectaGuard, Inc.
2001 James Bradley    
2002 James R. Wagner    
2008 Nathanial C. Fick  Author One Bullet Away



Neither the United States Marine Corps nor any other component of the Department of Defense has approved, endorsed or authorized this activity. No Federal or United State Marine Corps endorsement intended.

Marine Corps Scholarship Foundation
909 N. Washington Street, Suite 400
Alexandria, VA  22314
Tel: +1703.549.0060  Fax: +1703.549.9474

Contact Us  |  Site Map  |  Stay Connected

© 2012 Marine Corps Scholarship Foundation.
All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

  Student Testimonials  

  Facebook  Facebook

  LinkedIn  LinkedIn

  YouTube  Youtube

  Twitter  Twitter


Donate Online Now

Footer Divider